Jobs- have not seen this thread yet

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Jobs- have not seen this thread yet

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    ldordal

I am 46- I hope to be moving myself and my 2 cats to CR in 2 years or so but I will need a job. I have been working in the telecommunications field for the past ten years or so here in Wash DC and know wireline but more wireless. Any advice on how to proceed? I will have my house and car free and clear so all I need to do is provide for myself the monthly expenses necessary.
    Gracias.
    Liz

DavidCMurray
    Participant

Liz, there are severe restricions on non-Costa Ricans working in the Costa Rican economy. First, you must be a legal resident, not just a tourist. Obtaining legal residency will take at least four months; eight months is not unlikely. And you may not legally fill a position that a Costa Rican could fill.

You should know, too, that wages here are much, much lower than whatever you’re earning in the U.S.

You need to have an in-depth discussion of all this with a qualified, experienced Costa Rican attorney before you go any farther. Then, when you think you fully understand, have that same discussion with a second equally qualifed attorney to verify what you learned from the first one.

ldordal

Hmm….I’m thinking that sponsorship by an American company would be the way to go here-I guess that would be my slant. Any experience with that?

scottbenson

Well the biggest hurtel you would have is to have a American company write a letter explaining why you are more qualified than the thousands of well highly educated costa ricans. Unless you have a freind in high places but even that dose not work always any more. You will have to get a work permit and to do this you have to meet qualifications. CR is very serious about protecting Ticos jobs!