Working with a realtor before making the decison to relocate

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Working with a realtor before making the decison to relocate

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    CBCarby

My wife and I are looking at retiring in Costa Rica in about two years. We are planning a trip in the early part of 2014 (January February) to find out if we will like it or not.

We are concerned about the heat and humidity of the beach area. We presently live in a coastal town in British Columbia and like the ocean.

We are also looking at the central valley.

My question is should we be contacting a realtor in each area or work with one person?

I am a licensed mortgage broker and also a licensed realtor here. Have been since 1986. I don’t like people to waste my time and would like to let a realtor there know that we would not waste his/hers.

barbara ann

I was a licensed broker in the states. My advice is to be very careful. Licensing is not required here, education is not required, etc. Attorneys should also be by recommendation. Because you are in the industry you should be able to judge the quality and honesty of the person you decide to work with. Good luck, Costa Rica is a great place to live. We have lived in the Central Pacific for 4 years and it is warm and humid.
    I believe that welovecostarica.com published a list with climate averages for different parts of the country.

CBCarby

[quote=”barbara ann”]I was a licensed broker in the states. My advice is to be very careful. Licensing is not required here, education is not required, etc. Attorneys should also be by recommendation. Because you are in the industry you should be able to judge the quality and honesty of the person you decide to work with. Good luck, Costa Rica is a great place to live. We have lived in the Central Pacific for 4 years and it is warm and humid.