Where to begin looking?

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Where to begin looking?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    hhodesmd

In a country with so many attractive areas, HOW and WHERE do you begin to narrow your search to look for properties???? I am a 65y/o soon-to-be retired physician interested in easy access to shopping, high-speed internet, satellite tv, good roads, scenery, beach, and easy drive to international airport. We prefer a free-standing home with pool in gated community with caretaker nearby, and expat neighbors.
    Thanks for your suggestions.

jamesgoshen4

Doc…I think you begin by going down for at least 2 weeks and visiting areas around San Jose such as Escazu or San Antonio de Belen….close to airport but 2 hrs from beach. Visit Los Suenos at the beach…but 2 hrs from airport….although these are mostly large condos. Or visit the Liberia airport area in Guanacaste…..

vbcruiser

When my wife and I thought about retiring in CR we started at the Nicaragua border and hit every beach along the Pacific coast, all the way to the Panama border. We new we wanted to be near the beach and on the Pacific coast. We made our way to Tamarindo which wasn’t bad at that time and liked the area.

One day we went for a drive to Playa Grande as it was a beach we marked on the map, that we wanted to see. We have been to just about every nook and cranny in Costa Rica and at the end of every day we look at each other and say lets get back home.

My number one spot to live in CR is Palm Beach Estates, Playa Grande, hands down.

Ticobell

May I have the envelope please? And the answer is…….Atenas! Close to everything, especially after the new highway is completed. Contact Jeff Hickcox the real estate agent who specializes in the area; he’ll show you Hacienda Atenas, a gated community that may be perfect for you, and other areas as well.

dkt2u