Visa for Ticos visiting Canada

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Visa for Ticos visiting Canada

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    happygirl

Help! What is the procedure to aquire a visa for Ticos wanting to visit Canada for a couple of weeks? They have their passports so what is the next step? Do they have to have a Canadian accompany them to the Canadian Embassy?

Andrew
    Keymaster

You first stop should be the Canadian Embassy website at

Scott Oliver
    WeLoveCostaRica.com

happygirl

Thanks Scott, I knew I could count on you!

ssure

I have some experience with this and I’m Canadian. It is very difficult to get a visitors visa to Canada for someone from Costa Rica UNLESS they have money, income from employment and strong ties to their community. VERY difficult.

Get your federal M.P. to write a letter of support if you have any sort of relationship with her/him. Mine told me the Can. Embassy has final say and MP’s have little pull. By the way, you’ll be dealing with the Can. Emb. in Guatemala, not the one in C.R. They will take the application and forward it to Guatemala where it has been our experience that the people who process the application don’t understand English very well.

I’m serious about this. And, to further frustrate the situation, there is no appeal and they don’t have to explain why they reject you and if they do, it’ll be very vague. I got my MP to look into the reasons given and she was told something different from what we were told.