Veteran Info

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Veteran Info

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    cawdor

Hola!
    I am a disabled vet & my wife is a disabled civilian ( quite a pair ). She has MS & i’m just a mess. I recently read that CIMA in Escuza accepts TriCare. Is this true & are there other providers? Also,we receive our meds via mail order from Express Scripts. They do not deliver outside of US. This item is very important because her scripts for MS would cost $1800.00 per month. Via E.S. it’s $9.00. Any suggestions or info would be deeply appreciated.

Gracias!
    CMCP

Andrew
    Keymaster

Please read ‘Costa Rica Healthcare for Military Veterans’ by John Cantrell which you will find at John’s telephone number is listed at the bottom…

Getting Meds mailed to you here is easy even if the company you deal with does not mail outside the USA. All you need is a USA mail forwarding address. One popular company you could look at is Aerocasillas. You can see their Costa Rica address information at

Scott

DavidCMurray
    Participant

I have a friend who’s retired from the U.S. Army and goes to CIMA for his health care.

I also have Express Scripts as a mail-in pharmacy. Two problems arise: first, they will only honor a prescription written by a doctor who has a DEA registration number. Costa Rican physicians don’t. So you’ll have to figure out how to get scripts written in the U.S. And prescriptions in the U.S. are only good for one year.

Second, Aerocasilles’ service and/or Costa Rican Customs are very unpredictable. Some things get here from our mail forwarding service in Miami in less than a week, but we received First Class mail last week, via Aerocasilles and delivered to the Association of Residents of Costa Rica in San Jose, that was postmarked January 17th (that’s right!). And we’ve had packages that took over a month to arrive here that were originally consigned to UPS in Miami. So you must order way in advance.

cawdor