US Real Estate update…

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum US Real Estate update…

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    *Lotus

I know this site is about Costa Rica but I thought I would post an update on what the real estate market is doing here in NYC. I have read many posts in this forum on the decline of the American market and people struggleing to sell homes and complete there move to CR. Since I am a broker in Manhattan I thought I would fill you in on what has been happening up here. After a big slowdown from October thru December the buyers are back in force! Truthfully I can not explain it, although wall street bonus money always bolsters the market in January, this up tick seems to have some legs. Quality is selling, we are back to bidding wars I just had two and they both went over the ask.One of the properties I had for seven months the other was a new listing that went in 5 days. Basicaly it is all about price and location, the quality is selling the the others are sitting like dead wood. With rents so high people would still rather own, and with twice as much inventory on the market as this time last year buyers can find quality homes and seller are a bit more flexable because of all the bad press the houseing market has been getting. I for one really thought we were going to see a big, big downturn with riseing inventory and buyers afraid to pull the trigger because of an eroding market…put the funeral off it ain’t dead yet! Love to hear what going on in your nsck of the woods…I have also heard that Florida is seeing some rebound as well. So for those who feel our markets are tied together we still have very low interest rates and lots of liquidity, of course this could/will change. But my guess is you will see even more Americanos buying up these condos in Jaco and useing dirt cheap American money to do it. Scott you better upgrade your server to handle all these gringos looking for quality projects to buy into..Lol.

Andrew