Superbloque

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Superbloque

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    orcas0606
    Participant

I am researching a small construction project and have been looking at Superbloque. I have seen what Scott shows on this site but I need more info and maybe someone here has some personal experienc with this system/company.

From what I can see it appears that the materials and system provide sufficent strength and quality. My most important concern is the quality of the finished product….window frames, doors, counter tops, ceramics, final cement finish etc.

I am not planning anything super luxury but do want a decent final product. Any info would very welcome. Maybe someone out there knows where I could see a finished product. Thanx

I have been building housing for over 30 years, with the last 20 years in Costa Rica and I’ve utilized both CBS and EIFS construction methods.

I feel that the traditional concrete block with steel reinforced monolithic concrete columns and tie beams, commonly referred to as CBS construction (Concrete Block Structure), makes a lot of sense in Latin America because the majority of the Latino tradesmen fully understand this method.

The Superbloque’s http://www.superbloque.com are larger than the standard concrete blocks and more difficult to handle. The local tradesmen don’t like the Superbloque’s because they are heavier and difficult to lift up and over the steel re-rods that we install inside the concrete block walls.

I’ve found that when building projects in foreign countries, it’s best to try and adapt to the local customs, rather than trying to re-invent the wheel. If you have a construction site that is challenging and traditional concrete blocks are not practical and light weight construction methods must be utilized, then the best alternatives are steel-stud tubing like METALCO.