Snakes in Costa Rica

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Snakes in Costa Rica

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 29 total)
  • Author
    sprite

Terciopelo, I am told, is the most common viper in the mountains. A few weeks ago I zip lined up to a platform and there was a small terciopelo at face level climbing a vine right where I landed.

The Ticos attending to the zip line were understandably very nervous and had a quick debate as to whether to knock it off. They decided the fall might kill it so they let it continue its climb above our heads. I wonder if there would have a debate had the same incident happened in the States or whether the animal would have been killed on the spot without

rebaragon

Sprite, I’m not a snake expert, but from my experience as a tropical biologist and that picture, that doesn’t look like Bothrups asper (terciopelo) which is a lot less colorful than the snake you photographed; however, it does appear to be a poisonous snake due to the shape of its head (although I can’t be certain from the picture) and it was certainly an incredibly risky maneuver to allow a zip line group to remain right under it. You were in its environment and needed to leave that area as soon as possible more than having tried to kill it since that would have also posed a risk for your group — the snake might have easily lunged at your group. Vipers have even been known to bite once their heads have been cut off so you can imagine how that might not have been the course to take when your group was on a small platform so many feet off of the ground.

The responsible thing under the circumstances was for the group guides to remove your group from the risk this snake posed, but also note that many people can easily confuse a poisonous snake from a non-poisonous one and kill a natural inhabitant of the area you have voluntarily entered unnecessarily.