running a business in CR

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum running a business in CR

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    elduche

So here’s what I’m thinkin. I sell my house, move to CR, buy a small resort on the coast somewhere, and retire young. Now my wife is also interested in this idea but she has a wonderful business in No. Calif, so we decided summer in Calif, winter in CR. I’m sure there are many problems with this idea that will be pointed out. Any and all advise will be much appreciated. Thank you. New member 1st post.

sprite

I am no expert on either Costa Rica or on business start ups but the first questions that come to mind is (besides the obvious question as to what experience you have in running a resort), have you spent any appreciable time on the Costa Rican coast and do you speak Spanish?
    Your idea sounds as exciting and as fun as a month long vacation is Costa Rica. I am just curious as to the practicality of experience that currently backs up the dream.

elduche

Not an expert by any means, but have some experience in the service industry. Currently my wife and I own a wedding business and provide overnight accomodations at our location. would like to do the same in CR. I speak a little spanish and am not worried about picking it up once there. I’ve traveled extensively just not to CR yet. I guess my question is, is it all that it’s cracked up to be. I mean to people who have been there for a couple of years, do you love it or are you ready to come home. I’ve done a lot of reading on the net about CR and can’t wait to make a visit for the first time.

Edited on Jul 09, 2008 10:18

DavidCMurray
    Participant

We’ve been in Costa Rica for three years and love it more than when we got here. We’re headed back to the U.S. the end of August and as the date draws near I wonder more and more if I really want to go. But you must understand that my response is from one who is retired here and not trying to make a living.