Please tell your Costa Rican Crime story

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Please tell your Costa Rican Crime story

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 71 total)
  • Author
    sjm1580

To start a debate about crime in Costa Rica, I thought it would be helpful to hear subscribers crime stories (if any) in Costa Rica. Please include details like location. Please share…..

Edited on May 22, 2008 13:13

Andrew
    Keymaster

I had my car radio stolen once outside a restaurant in San Jose about five years ago… But that also happened to me in London, Georgetown, Grand Cayman and New York City.

I also had a rocking chair stolen from outside the front of the home that I rented for a while in San Antonio de Escazu.

Scott Oliver – Founder
    WeLoveCostaRica.com

sjm1580

Scott,

Thank you for your reply. Would you say crime such as theft is as bad in London, Georgetown, Grand Cayman and New York City as it is in San Jose?

Andrew
    Keymaster

I am NOT an expert in crime and some of the data is not that easy to find but I can tell you that I feel much safer in San Jose, Costa Rica than I do in London or in New York. The population of Grand Cayman is so small that it’s not really a worthwhile comparison.

As you will probably have noticed from some of my postings in this Forum (where crime has been discussed on numerous occasions) and in the tone of my articles, I don’t believe in featuring the latest bloody, gruesome stories on this site, I will leave that to others who seem obsessed with ‘crime’ on a daily basis.

However, I do want an open forum where people can discuss things freely and welcome our VIP Members feedback on this topic.

Scott Oliver – Founder
    WeLoveCostaRica.com

sprite

A few years ago, when my laundry was returned, I was missing a sock. Not sure if it was misplaced or lost but I guess whenever something disappears in Costa Rica, it is safe to blame it on rampant theft.

lurker

You are naive sprite! Your sock was probably kidnapped.

sjm1580