Panama border run

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Panama border run

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Octavia

Hello all,
    This is my first time posting. We are planning to live in Ojochal upon our retirement in a year or two.

Does anyone have the skinny on the ins and outs of making the 90 day border run to Panama from the southern area?

I am assuming there is a costanera bus that goes to/past the border (at La Cuesta?) any advice would be very much appreciated. Still doing my due diligence.

Thank you. Ps- I speak fluent Spanish so no language barrier.

costaricafinca
    Participant

The crossing into Panama will require showing that each of you have $500 cash in your pocket or a bank print out of your account and a return ticket to your [u]home[/u] country. Returning to the CR side, they are requesting to see $300 and a ticket out of CR. If you do not stay out the ‘required 72 hours’, your visa stamp may only be for 30 days instead of the hoped for 90 days.
    BTW at first ‘perpetual tourists’ were showing ‘copies’ of printed itineraries of tickets they hadn’t really purchased, but the border officials are aware of this and are contacting the airlines.
    [u]It has been reported,[/u] there is a new facility at Paso Canoas open 24/7 that is now confiscating all liquor and food purchases that have not had duty paid on them or if you haven’t stayed out the 72 hours to have duty free privileges. This has been commonly done by both legal residents and Costa Rican citizens, alike, who go shopping for much less expensive food items.
    It is now much more involved that a quick trip across for lunch.
    Until you have a [i]cedula[/i] in hand you must continue to do this if you wish to continue driving using your home driving license, even though you may have the [i]comprobante[/i] saying that you are not required to leave Costa Rica, so expect to have to do this trip many times…:cry: