Orange Farm

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Orange Farm

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    kimball

How much money could one make off of that orange farm for sale ?

Andrew
    Keymaster

Hmmm!

I’m no expert but this is a small farm so it would be more pocket money than a significant income kimball don’t you think? Having said that, good OJ here is not cheap.

How many trees do you need? How many trees per acre can you have? How much juice do you get out of an orange anyway? How many times per year? Are these particular oranges more valuable? Do they produce more juice?

I would think it’s the same as most coffee farms that people buy, it’s more of a hobby or a “gentleman farmer” concept than a business although some hobbies can keep you pretty darned busy.

Anybody else know anything about orange farms?

Scott Oliver – Founder
    WeLoveCostaRica.com

costaricafinca
    Participant

Good answer, Scott.
    When you can purchase at a local ferria a bag of a dozen or more oranges for 1,000 col, it says you won’t make much money. Especially, since it is seasonal. Selling locally you are direct competition with your neighbor. You would also need to be within a reasonable distance to a bottling company to sell for commercial juice, depending on the species of oranges grown.
    At least it is a lot easier/simpler to juice the oranges yourself and enjoy it than it is to collect/dry/roast coffee beans.

* To purchase a property of this size, with the intention to build a residence away from the river, for the size alone would seem a good deal as long as you didn’t expect or need rely on the income. The cost of labor to look after the fruit trees, would eat up any profit.

Edited on Oct 22, 2009 10:22

kimball

Thats kind of what i was thinking. Just need to hear someone else say it.

costaricafinca
    Participant