New member plans BBQ restaurant

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum New member plans BBQ restaurant

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Jim S.

Hello to all! I’ve just joined the forum and am impressed by the wealth of good information and advice here.

I’m a Vietnam veteran in my early 60’s and have been a full-time resident of Costa Rica for over ten years. I live in San Ramon de Tres Rios, northeast of downtown San Jose.

My wife is Tica and I’m pretty much immersed in the culture. We speak Spanish only at home and almost all of my friends here are Tico.

I also own a samll finca/horse ranch in the northern foothills of Volcan Turrialba and am an avid horseman and dog owner/trainer.

I’m in the process of opening Costa Rica’s first and only traditional Southern pit barbecue restaurant, All American Barbecue, near my home in San Ramon de Tres Rios. I plan to open in early November and hope to have the opportunity to meet some of you in person if you enjoy good barbecue.

I’m pleased to be a member of your online community and look forward to being an active participant.

Andrew
    Keymaster

Welcome Jim S!

With you having lived here for ten years your compliments about the good information here thanks to our VIP Members are indeed received with gratitude.

I’m assuming that you are pretty much ready to open the new restaurant at this stage are you?

Do you have your patente?

Scott Oliver
    WeLoveCostaRica.com

Jim S.

Hi Scott,

I still have a lot to do before opening but it’s all coming together. I have all of my permits except the final patente from the municipalidad which I expect to receive later this week.

The restaurant is fairly small and aimed mostly at takeout and home delivery customers but I have seating for 20 to 25 people. Once everything is running smoothly (and profitably), I hope to open a second location with a larger dining room and a liquor license.

raggedjack

[quote=”Jim S.”]Hi Scott,