Moving There

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Moving There

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    teaser43

Can some american give me some insight about living there. i know I need a passport to get there but can I establish residence there and is it expensive or hard??
    Just looking for a friend to give me some good info about the place. I am a disabled veteran and meet the income requirements.
    Hope someone can help me here..
    Thank you

Floyd Smith

enduro

Floyd

There are different ways to become a resident in Costa Rica, and I assume as you are a vet, then you would probably become a “pensionado” ie, a person with a retirement income. Currently this amount is $600, however in 6 months time it will be $1000 per month. This has to be guarateed and certified. There are lots of other things that need to be done other than getting a passport, but I would say that you need to visit Costa Rica first to see if you can adjust to the lifestyle, heat, rain, food and general way of life.
    There are many different areas of Costa Rica, suitable for different things dependant on needs… How hard it will be will depend on what you want from it and whether it can fulfill those needs.

So,to sum up, read lots of info available here and lots of other places, travel to Costa Rica and discover it yourself, find an area you like and then look for your options…

Hope this helps a little, Pura Vida

Brian

teaser43

Well I draw like $998 a month now so will that be a huge issue? I draw Social Security Disability now and am in process of getting VA pension. i would want to live in the city and would it be possible for me to get a little job to make up the $2..lol
    Are you american bro?? By city I mean San Jose as I am a sports betting enthusiast..lol.

enduro