Importing vehicles to Costa Rica

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Importing vehicles to Costa Rica

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    kmlmck

I want to import my 1997 toyota landcruiser from florida; can anyone shed some light on this for me? thanks

tx500sl

Sounds like a great idea to me. If you like the vehicle, you will be miles ahead by bringing it along. I would suggest that you contact Ship Costa Rica. They are very reputable and professional and can arrange to move it here with no surprises. They moved me here with my car and my furnishings and I have nothing but praises to sing about them.

I was a salesman, used car department manager and independent auto dealer for 29 years in Texas.

Andrew
    Keymaster

You may wish to read the following article: “Costa Rica Cars – To bring or not to bring. The first in a series revealing the inside scoop on the question of whether to ship your car or buy one in Costa Rica’ at

We will be publishing a follow up article later this week.

Scott Oliver – Founder
    WeLoveCostaRica.com

jessicab

This question was brought up previously. You might want to read all the answers.
    According to tx500sl, a vehicle over 5 years old will be the most costly.
    Correct me if I misunderstood tx500sl, but he said to bring a 2004 if you are
    moving this year. Next year, it would be best to bring 2005, but a 4-5 year
    old car has the lowest import taxes. Over 5 yrs. is the highest.

tx500sl

Just to clarify, cars three years old and newer have the lowest import duties at 50-something percent. Four and five year old cars are next with a duty of 60-something percent and 5 year and older cars are the highest at 70-something percent.

They all have a ‘birthday’ of January 1 to the CR government, so a 2004 model will have the lowest duty from now until December 31, 2007. As of January 1, it will be considered 4 years old and the tax goes up.