Importing Tools to Costa Rica

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Importing Tools to Costa Rica

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Ken

I’ve heard that it can be very expensive to bring personal items into the country due to import tax. I am a hobbiest woodworker and have several large machines and a shop full of tools. Does anyone have any idea as to what I could expect bringing these to Costa Rica?

breezygirl7

Hi I’ll know more after Tuesday. I just finished helping my friends pack for their move to CR. At last count they had 16 large bins and suitcases loaded with lots of tools and household items. Seriously at least half were items like chainsaws, circular saws, table saws and hundreds of hand tools. They are flying on Martin air and supposedly only have to pay the weight charge since all the items are personal use. As I said I will keep you informed as to the total shipping weight, total shipping cost and any additional fees they may be charged. Terri

DENISE

where are your friends flying from and to where….?…this is so interesting…..
    Denise

Andrew
    Keymaster

You may wish to see the following article at:

How Do Import Taxes Work in Costa Rica

There are some useful links at the bottom of this attorney’s article too…

Scott – Founder
    WeLoveCostarica.com

breezygirl7

My friends are flying from Miami to San Jose. To give you an idea about the volume: They left for the airport this morning in a fully packed 7 passenger mini van. Besides themselves they are bringing along a golden retriever and the carrier. The entire rest of the space was FULL with rubbermaid bins and odd size suitcases. To carry all the heavy tools they had been scouring thrift shops for old fashioned heavy duty samsonite luggage. There was a Beverly Hillbilly sense about their departure. LOL. The only thing missing was granny tied to the roof.