How do I make it happen?

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum How do I make it happen?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 35 total)
  • Author
    kwaltersx3

My 2 daughters and I (14 & 10) want to relocate to Costa Rica…I have done lots of research. and it appears that there really is no way for us to do this legally.

I do not have SS and I do not have 2500 in income coming in from the states. I had hopes of getting a work visa but see that thats not going to happen. I am a massage therapist, Reiki II practitioner and Doula.

Dose anyone have any suggestions on how we can make this happen?

Thanks
    Kim

Andrew
    Keymaster

Kim:

What would you say to someone from Costa Rica who wrote the exact same letter to you about living and working as a massage therapist in the U.S.?

Scott

kwaltersx3

[quote=”Scott”]Kim:

What would you say to someone from Costa Rica who wrote the exact same letter to you about living and working as a massage therapist in the U.S.?

Scott

[/quote]
    Hi Scott
    I would suggest that they get a work permit and that they would then have to research the state that they intend to work in to see what their requirements are.
    I did not mean I wanted to make this happen illegally, I was wondering if there was something I was missing or if its so that its just not possible.
    I was hoping that there might be another way.
    Kim

DavidCMurray
    Participant

Sadly, I’m afraid there is no way to do what you have in mind. As a tourist or as a legal temporary resident, you may not work in any capacity in competition with a Costa Rican even in a business you establish or buy. What’s more, there are plenty of massage therapists practicing here now, so the competition would be fierce and the income much less than what you’re used to.

costaricabill
    Participant

Don’t tell him, but (as usual) David is right. I know it is out of the question, but there is a way, as distasteful as it may seem.