Export Business

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Export Business

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    ibarnon

I am thinking of trying to export items from here to the United States such as raw coffee beans and other crops. Does anyone here have experience with this type of business?

Do you know of any contacts whom I can talk to and get more information? Thanks in advance.

costaricafinca
    Participant

‘Raw’ coffee beans must be processed within 24 hours of picking, so that’s a bust! However, processed but not roasted is a different scenario. Many companies do it.
    Other flowers and/or fruit have to be inspected thoroughly, and if ‘anything’ is found, you may be fined. This is allowed twice, then you may not be allowed to export again.

sprite

As a US Customs broker, I can tell you the very first thing you want to do is contact the FDA. There is a protocol for importing food and drink. Exporters and importers have to register with the FDA at which point FDA registration and PIN numbers are issued to either the importer or exporter. The import must also be reported to the FDA/US CUSTOMS prior to arrival at which point a prior notification number is issued for that particular shipment.

Broker fees will be in the range of $100 to $200 and if you do not have a Customs bond, one will have to be issued. The bond will be for three times the value of the goods and the charge is usually around $35 to $45 per $10,000 value of the bond; thus a $20,000 import will cost you about $240 for the single entry bond.

Edited on Jul 19, 2008 13:43

ibarnon

Thanks for the replies.

Sprite,

Are you still a customer’s broker? How hard is it to get into the import/export business? Would you happen to know of any exporters local here in Costa Rica who I can get more information.

ibarnon

sprite