Costa Rica’s Electricity and Water Problems

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Costa Rica’s Electricity and Water Problems

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 53 total)
  • Author
    Andrew
    Keymaster

Would love to hear from the VIP Members who have spent a lot of time in Costa Rica about how Costa Rica could solve their water and electricity problems?

I have put up my own article on this topic which you will find at: < https://www.welovecostarica.com/members/1325.cfm > I am NOT an expert on energy but this is a problem that will affect all of us at some stage, no matter where we live.

Scott Oliver – Founder
    WeLoveCostaRica.com

Peg

My best suggestion for the electric would be to increase the percentage of wind energy being used. Also get some of these big foreign owned companies to invest in solar panels, if not the current ones, certainly all future companies moving or building in CR.

As far as water goes, wih two oceans, maybe De-salination plants, one on each coast.

editer

I remember reading a magazine article about 30 years ago about a community that had one reservoir at a high elevation. There was a hydroelectric dam which supplied power to the community, however, it was being strained by increasing usage and decreasing water supplies. The community was in the process of digging another reservoir at a lower elevation.

The plan was to use the dam to generate power during the day as usual, however at night when the demand for electricity was much lower, the community would pump the water back up into the higher reservoir. It would take a lot of energy to do this, but the energy was expended during light usage hours.

I don’t know if this plan worked or not, but I thought it was a unique solution. Of course, I’m not an energy expert either.

editer