Costa Rican Residency

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Costa Rican Residency

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    itsbutch

I, and I understand other also, are having the same problem that I am in obtaining residency. I have all the legalized papers from the US as requested by my lawyer. I have now been here in CR the three months and should be leaving for 72 hrs to keep things legal. My lawyer is either slow or just don’t care. I still need to get fingerprinted and I have been awaiting her to get an appointment for three months now. She told me that sine I have the papers filed that she doesn’t think I should have to leave the country for 72 hrs. I asked her “you think” and she said “no, you don’t have to leave”. I have heard from others and read postings that one should leave CR even if the papers for residence are filed.
    I don’t want to walk a crooked path here in C.R.
    Does anyone know if one can do this residency stuff without a lawyer? She is charging me $1000 plus $240 for stamps and finger prints. I am retired and would have the time to do the process myself.
    Help…………or suggestions. What I actually need is a lawyer to do it in a normal amount of time.

wmaes47

I think you are paying to much for someone who says “I think”.

You should believe that there are several other places that will assist you, and quicker, for a lesser price. Try these places:

http://www.residencyincostarica.com/

This is a good link to read within WeLoveCostaRica.com written by a friend of Scotts:

https://www.welovecostarica.com/members/953.cfm

Another article:

http://www.vistasdesarchi.com/residency.php

Another lawyer to check with:

http://www.residenceincostarica.com/

Let us know if you need more.

Many of the articles from these site and others state that “you do not have to leave Costa Rica for the 72 hours after the application has been filed”.

Cheers
    Bill Maes

maravilla