Costa Rica Residency – Need Some Answers

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Costa Rica Residency – Need Some Answers

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    JohnnyBoy

I was convicted 13 years ago for Harrassment–a domestic situation–completed one year probation. Would that prevent me from immigrating as a retiree with Social Security as guarateed income? If I owed alimony that I could not possibly pay, what would that do to my status there? Could I be forced by Costa Rican authorities to pay alimony. If I had unpaid debts here, what would that mean if I was a legal resident there?

Andrew
    Keymaster

I honestly don’t know if an offence from 13 years ago would still come up on a police report which would be required by the Costa Rican immigration authorities.

You might be better trying to verify this with your local Police Department, if that does come up in the Police report your chances of getting residency will NOT be good.

If it does NOT come up, I would have thought that your chances of getting legal residency would be as good as anybody else’s

Having said that – PLEASE REMEMBER THAT I AM NOT A COSTA RICAN IMMIGRATION ATTORNEY!

Scott

JohnnyBoy

Thanks, Scott. I should have mentioned that was a misdemeanor charge to which I pled guilty. Do misdemeanors keep one from immigrating? Anyone else have any info? Thanks, JohnnyBoy

maravilla