Costa Rica construction methods

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Costa Rica construction methods

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    JimCal

A friend of mine is having a house built in the Altos de
    flamingo project and I am getting ready to do the same. My question is, the contractor is the only builder in the site that uses a slab foundation as opposed to a footing. Should I insist on a footing or is the other method acceptable. Any ballpark estamate on how much per sq. foot construction should cost?
    Thanks in advance,
    Jim

Andrew
    Keymaster

I am not a construction expert but would assume that the type of foundation would very much depend on the terrain and the kind of home being built no?

But if both methods are acceptable then you as the person putting up the money should certainly have a big part in making the decision about what to use, no?

Do you know what sort of cost difference there is?

Scott Oliver – Founder
    WeLOveCostaRica.com

wspeed1195

monolithic slab.the relatively standard approach is to scratch the perimeter to A grade then form above the ground.Scott is correct as in the ground and code enforcement allow for it.simple cost effective method.you can request the upgrade,and in price also.yet it’s not A less than quality job.it makes for less trenching for plumbers and such.
    p.s.it’ll give you some distance between the ground grade and floor grade.good for rainy season.

Edited on Mar 11, 2007 19:04

dsullivan