Costa Rica and CAFTA

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Costa Rica and CAFTA

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    fionabbb

I’m no political expert but seems to me that the NAFTA did NOTHING good for the common Mexican people but did help the US multinationals and richest Mexicans to get richer and from what I can see, the same will apply for the Free Trade Agreement that Costa Rica is planning on doing with the USA?

The US multi-nationals will accelerate their to rape and pillage of the Costa Rican markets and we all know that most Costa Rican agricultural products don’t stand a serious chance against the US products in their markets.

One of my Tico friends puts it this way: “We’re screwed if we don’t sign it and we’re screwed if we do sign it.”

Comments?

Fi

maravilla

Paul Volcker stated in 1993, regarding NAFTA, “Trade agreements are not about trade at all. They are about the expansion of the New World Order and globalization.” One of the reasons we have so many Mexican immigrants in this country is that the multinationals gobbled up the little farms, displaced the residents, and took away their ability to grow their own food and sell what was left over at market. Take a look at India — in some places they have the highest suicide rates EVER because the agribusinesses came in and took the land and now those little farmers who were growing their own food are now working for ADM and growing cotton. You can’t eat cotton! Costa Rica is indebted to the IMF and World Bank. Those two monsters will hammer the administration until they sign on to CAFTA. it will be the kiss of death for many of the small farms in CR and the markets will be flooded with GMO crops, something we should all rail against. Look what the IMF and the WB did in Argentina, Ecuador, and any other place they have their tentacles. I hope it doesn’t happen, but the multinationals will make sure that it does because they don’t care about anything except money.

chicmac