CIA Accidentally Overthrows Costa Rica

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum CIA Accidentally Overthrows Costa Rica

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Andrew
    Keymaster

In case you missed this little bit of humour …

O-SPAN Classic: CIA Accidentally Overthrows Costa Rica

Scott

maravilla

it IS really funny, and it looks like it was filmed about the time they DID overthrow the Arbenz government, which was NOT an accident!

DavidCMurray
    Participant

I’ve been trying to figure out how to react to this. Am I supposed to be mad, glad, scared or sad about this event that happened forty-eight years ago, the year I graduated from high school?

maravilla

are you talking about the Arbenz coup that you don’t know how to react to? Don’t forget about Allende. It’s just been revealed that he was assassinated, and did not commit suicide as we were originally told. Coups d’etat, assassinations, and all manner of political overthrows are what the CIA does best. Just read the book “Overthrow” or better yet, “Legacy of Ashes”if you want to really understand the political influence the US has exerted over Latin America and how leaders are changed like underwear. jejejeje

DavidCMurray
    Participant

As a matter of fact, maravilla, I have read [u]Legacy of Asses[/u] (oops! “[u]Ashes[/u]”) and I am appropriately appalled. I just wonder why, of all the misdeeds and screwups the CIA has committed in the distant and recent past, the original poster chose to single out this one. Certainly the overthrow of the government of Costa Rica in 1963 pales in comparison to the CIA’s part in the Bay of Pigs and Viet Nam debacles, among others, but this we focus on.

Andrew
    Keymaster

Maybe I published this about Costa Rica because this is WeLoveCostaRica.com and we focus primarily on Costa Rica rather than Asia and it sure ain’t WeLoveVietnam.com

maravilla