Canadian tax on a teachers pension?

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Canadian tax on a teachers pension?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    ratus

Greetings all. My wife and I are seriously wishing to move to CR. We will be there this Jan to April to look for property and check out the different areas. One question we are having a problem with….we realize our pension from Canada is not taxed in CR, but is it taxed before it is sent to CR? If it is directly deposited into a CR account is it free from Canadian taxes? We spent many hours online and talking to Revenue Canada but cant seem to get a straight answer. So, is a Canadian teachers pension taxed in Canada if it is sent directly to our account in CR?
    THANKS SO MUCH!!:D

anneliseped

I am no expert at this..I usually just read the entries but felt that I could be of assistance in this case.

You have to pay taxes at the source so no matter where you spend your money, the tax must be paid in the country from which it comes. However, when (or if) you become legal residents of Costa Rica, you can apply to the Canadian Government to be taxed as a non-resident. Since you won’t be using the benefits ie. health insurance, old-age pension and suplements, the rate of tax is reduced accordingly. You will still be eligible for CPP as you have paid into it during your working life.
    I doubt that the Teachers’ Pension plan will deposit into a Costa Rican bank, but your bank or credit union will forward the money, at a cost and with a delay.

ratus

[quote=”anneliseped”]I am no expert at this..I usually just read the entries but felt that I could be of assistance in this case.