Canadian Couple Seeks Advice

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Canadian Couple Seeks Advice

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    chillpill

Hello everyone.

And wow, what a great forum … it still blows me away that there are cool little corners everywhere on the web like this.

Our story…

My wife and I are thinking about living in abroad for a time. At this time, we’re just exploring our options and aren’t sure sure if this would be 3 months at a time … or a couple years. But, we’re young and like the idea of seeing and experiencing other places beyond being just tourists.

I’ll hit the high points with some bullets …

– We’ve never been to Costa Rica. We are planning a 1-2 week trip in the next few months to kick off our research and exploration.
    – We’d love to visit areas that we’d consider living in
    – We own a house here in Canada, and are thinking of renting it out and relocating to Costa Rica for an unspecified amount of time
    – I work as a web developer and can work anywhere there is high speed internet. I would be bringing laptop and working during our time there
    – We speak fluent English and French but our Spanish sucks!

Could some of you forum members please advise where we might visit/scout around? We’ll be want to taking a holiday but also be actively scouting for a longer term commitment. This might be a tall order but here’s what we’re ideally after…

— A nice/safe area
    — Clean house or condo/apartment
    — Near the coast/beach
    — High speed internet infrastructure
    — Good public transport or walking/biking distance to shops/beach (dont want to buy a car!)
    — Lower priorities are: good eating, galleries, cultural events
    – A trustworthy, English speaking real estate agent that handles property rentals and isn’t going to try and milk us for being noobs 🙂

Thanks in advance for any thoughts, advice, considerations, warnings or referals you can share!

chillpill