Building and small investment in Costa Rica

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Building and small investment in Costa Rica

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    sueandchris

Scott: I am an experienced builder, designer and re-construction consultant in Prescott, Arizona. My husband and I have spent two trips comprising five weeks in Costa Rica during the past year. During our travels, I have paid careful attention to both new construction and remodels in the many places we have visited. We have been able to cover lots of territory during those weeks. We aren’t “vacation dreamers”, but rather wanted to assure ourselves that our positive,strong, and visceral response to the country and citizens (both native and international)was valid.

I design and build simple and intuitive homes or re-imagined projects that respond to their siting, weather, views to fulfill the needs of occupant/owners in powerful and economic ways. I am beginning to gather the information I will need to add Costa Rica to my work and living life. Your site has provided me with necessary information regarding real estate agents, appropriate lawyers for acquisition of property and so much more. Here are some additional questions for someone with hands-on experience: Without fluency in Spanish, can I hire someone to help me interface with my subcontractors on jobsite? How is the permitting process different there than in the States and does this vary from town to town? Are architects required for residential permits and would an architect be a valuable resource for initial work? My projects will be for sale. I believe your recent experience in construction was positive and your sale (surprisingly) rapid! I usually work in a more modern style and saw lots of examples of this there. I understand that replies will just be opinion, but some opinions are so valuable….Thanks so much for your continued work on this excellent site!

Andrew
    Keymaster