American Builder Seeks Costa Rican Opportunity

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum American Builder Seeks Costa Rican Opportunity

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Carl

Hello, I am a builder living in Los Angeles for the last 21 years. I am seeking a foreman/construction supervisor/craftsman position with a development team in Costa Rica. I have been specializing in high-end finish carpentry for the last several years, but I have experience with everything from foundations, concrete/rebar, hillside construction, framing, doors, windows, roofing, tile, maintenance and repairs to new construction. Pictures of some recent jobs can be seen here: http://www.contractorsreference.biz/
    Anyone with any advice, ideas, tips, etc. please contact me thru the above link, and thank you so much.

DavidCMurray
    Participant

This is going to be pretty tough, Carl. Costa Rican law explicitly prohibits foreigners, including legal residents, from competing with Costa Ricans for jobs for which they (Costa Ricans, that is) are qualified, and I’ll bet that there are plenty of qualified Costa Ricans ready to do the kind of work which you seek. What’s more, you will learn that wages in Costa Rica are a mere fraction of what you are used to. The Costa Rican labor law specifies a minimum wage by occupation and most folks in any given occupation work for that minimum wage.

Alvaro