Allergies

Home Forums Costa Rica Living Forum Allergies

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    drbobmellen

We live near Salem Oregon. My wife has severe grass and tree allergies. What can you tel me about allergies in the Central Pleateau (San Jose general area)? Thank You

Charlie

I am not an expert , but coming from Chicago, I never had any allergies back home . I live in the Central Valley now and have had all kinds of allergies, itchy eyes, nasal congestions , skin rashes, usually in the rainy season. Better bring plenty of your medication in case.

cindyc

I had the exact opposite happen. I’ve had hay fever/allergies all my life living in California, to the point of getting the shots and everything. Since moving to CR I have had none which really surprised me. I think it’s going to be an individual experience depending on what you’re allergic to.

DavidCMurray
    Participant

As CindyC says above, I think your mileage may vary. It might be a big problem for you or none at all. The good news is that medications here are much less expensive than in the U.S. and most are sold without the need of a physician’s prescription. And you should find perfectly competent allergist care in the local medical community. I wouldn’t let this concern be a deterrent.

jafranz

I would rather have an allergy in CR than the US. Why, because the Dr. and people at the pharmacy are much more caring and and friendly

mollyjim

Dave’s answer is spot on. We live in Medford, Oregon, for one more year. Molly is an allergy sufferer. Every time we’ve been in CR, whether the Central Valley or on the Pacific, she’s had no problems at all. Of course, sometimes it takes time for new allergies to appear! Less expensive medical treatment, drugs, and the attitude – if you’re going to have allergies anyway, what better place to have them than Costa Rica. Besides, I’m tired of Medford’s 90+ degree summers, even if it is low humidity heat! Cental Valley, here I come!

Jim